arrow-rightalertarrow-downclose emailarrow-upinstagramphonemaptranslate search facebooktwitter  
Can't find what you're looking for?
Translate / Traduire / Übersetzen / Tłumaczyć / Išversti / Tulkot / Traducir
School Logo

Scorton C of E

Primary School


School governors form the largest volunteer group in the country. They are people from all walks of life, who care about children’s education and are prepared to work as a team to support their school and local community.

More than 9,000 people volunteer to be governors in Lancashire, bringing to their role experience of everyday life and a wish to help children and schools. They support schools in raising standards, by determining the conduct and direction of the school.

Effective governors do not need educational expertise but do need to be committed to their school, willing to ask questions and act as a critical friend. They also need to be able to work as an enthusiastic member of the governing body team. The headteacher works closely with the governing body as its principal professional advisor. Governing body policy decisions will then be implemented by the headteacher in the day-to-day running of the school.

They will be supported by other governors on the governing body as well as by Lancashire County Council, through the Governor Services Team.


A Message from the Chair of our Governing Body


As the chair of the Scorton School Governing Board, I wanted to take the opportunity to welcome you to the fantastic new school website.  I hope you take the time to peruse the different pages and features and that you are able to find all the information you need. 
It was great privilege to be elected as chair in 2019, having served as a governor for several years previously.  On the Governing Board we have a wide range of experience including those involved in the public and private sector and those with experience of working in education and not.  There are naturally strong ties with St Peter's Church and the wider Scorton village community. 
The Governing Board is comprised of three types of governors: parent governors, teaching governors and foundation governors. We have responsibly for ensuring oversight of a wide range of areas including the Finance and Resource management at the school as well as how the school performs in its Standards and Effectiveness.  We work closely as a team to support Mrs. Scholz and her team, whilst providing supportive scrutiny. 
All the governors simply want the best outcomes and experiences for the children and look to enable the staff at the school to deliver this; we see our role as helping the Headteacher and her team to achieve this. 
Finally, if you are interested in joining the Governing Board, or would simply like to know more, then please get in touch via email [email protected]

School Governors

Mr Andy Webster - Chair (Parent)

Mr Kevin Taylor - (Local Authority)

Mrs S Haworth - Vice Chair (Parent)

vacancy (Foundation)

Mrs R McNamara (Foundation)

vacancy  (Foundation)


Mrs V Matichecchia (Foundation)

Mr I Riding - Chair of Finance Committee (Foundation)

Rev. Anton Muller (ex-officio Foundation)

Mrs E Pollitt (Staff)

Mrs R Scholz (Headteacher)


NameGovernor CategoryDate of AppointmentTerm of OfficeRelevant Business & Pecuniary InterestsGovernor Role in other educational institutionsRelationship between Governor or local staff
Mrs Rebecca ScholzHeadteacher20/04/20204 yrsNoneNoneNone
Mrs Emma PollittStaff10/12/20194 yrsNoneNoneNone
Rev. Anton MullerEx-officio Foundation15/06/20154 yrsNoneCalder Vale Primary SchoolNone
Mr Ian RidingFoundation20/02/20204 yrsNoneNoneNone
Mrs Victoria MatichecchiaFoundation08/01/20204 yrsNoneNoneNone
Mr Stephen ParrFoundation23/03/20174 yrsNoneNoneNone

Mrs Ruth


Foundation20/01/20254 yrsNoneNoneNone
Mrs Caroline BirchallFoundation27/01/20174 yrsNoneNone




Mrs Sue HaworthParent27/01/20164 yrsNoneNoneNone
Mr Andy WebsterParent27/01/20164 yrsNoneNoneNone
Mr Kevin TaylorLocal Authority06/06/20184 yrsNoneNoneNone 


Governors who have left the Governing Body during 2019-20

Mrs Kerry Byatt (Foundation)

Mrs Rebecca Harwood (Staff)

Mrs Helen Hesketh (Headteacher)

Mr D Anderson (Foundation)

Mr J Collinson (Foundation)


Governing Body Committees

Click below to see the committee structure of the current governing body

The following committees meet termly.  Other committees meet as required.


Standards and Effectiveness Committee

Mr Andy Webster

Mrs Sue Haworth

Mrs R McNamara


Mrs Victoria Matichecchia

Mrs Emma Pollitt

Rev. Anton Muller





Finance Committee

Mr Ian Riding (Chair)

Mr Kevin Taylor

Mr Andy Webster




Attendance record at governing body and committee meetings 2020/21


Autumn Term 2020   
NameFull GovernorsFinance CommitteeStandards & Effectiveness Committee
Mr Kevin TaylorYesYes 
Mr Andy WebsterYesYesYes
Mrs Sue HaworthYes Yes
Mrs Caroline Birchall   
Mr Jonty Collinson   
Mr Stephen ParrYesYes 
Mr David Anderson   
Mrs Victoria Matichecchia  Yes
Mr Ian RidingYesYes 
Rev. Anton MullerYes  
Mrs Emma PollittYes Yes
Mrs Rebecca ScholzYesYesYes
Spring Term 2021   
NameFull GovernorsFinance CommitteeStandards & Effectiveness Committee
Mr Kevin Taylor   
Mr Andy Webster   
Mrs Sue Haworth   
Mrs Caroline Birchall   
Mr Stephen Parr   
Mrs R McNamara   
Mrs Victoria Matichecchia   
Mr Ian Riding   
Rev. Anton Muller   
Mrs Emma Pollitt   
Mrs Rebecca Scholz   
Summer Term 2021   
Mrs V Matichecchia  yes
Rev A Muller  yes
Mrs S Haworth  yes
Mrs R McNamara`  yes
Mrs R Scholz  yes
Mrs E Pollitt  no
Mr A Webster  no
Autumn Term 2021   
NameFull Governors 22.11.21Finance Committee 4.10.21Standards & Effectiveness Committee 18.11.21