arrow-rightalertarrow-downclose emailarrow-upinstagramphonemaptranslate search facebooktwitter  
Can't find what you're looking for?
Translate / Traduire / Übersetzen / Tłumaczyć / Išversti / Tulkot / Traducir
School Logo

Scorton C of E

Primary School


School governors form the largest volunteer group in the country. They are people from all walks of life, who care about children’s education and are prepared to work as a team to support their school and local community.

More than 9,000 people volunteer to be governors in Lancashire, bringing to their role experience of everyday life and a wish to help children and schools. They support schools in raising standards, by determining the conduct and direction of the school.

Effective governors do not need educational expertise but do need to be committed to their school, willing to ask questions and act as a critical friend. They also need to be able to work as an enthusiastic member of the governing body team. The headteacher works closely with the governing body as its principal professional advisor. Governing body policy decisions will then be implemented by the headteacher in the day-to-day running of the school.

They will be supported by other governors on the governing body as well as by Lancashire County Council, through the Governor Services Team.


A Message from the Chair of our Governing Body


As the chair of the Scorton School Governing Board, I wanted to take the opportunity to welcome you to the fantastic new school website.  I hope you take the time to peruse the different pages and features and that you are able to find all the information you need. 
It was great privilege to be elected as chair in 2019, having served as a governor for several years previously.  On the Governing Board we have a wide range of experience including those involved in the public and private sector and those with experience of working in education and not.  There are naturally strong ties with St Peter's Church and the wider Scorton village community. 
The Governing Board is comprised of three types of governors: parent governors, teaching governors and foundation governors. We have responsibly for ensuring oversight of a wide range of areas including the Finance and Resource management at the school as well as how the school performs in its Standards and Effectiveness.  We work closely as a team to support Mrs. Scholz and her team, whilst providing supportive scrutiny. 
All the governors simply want the best outcomes and experiences for the children and look to enable the staff at the school to deliver this; we see our role as helping the Headteacher and her team to achieve this. 
Finally, if you are interested in joining the Governing Board, or would simply like to know more, then please get in touch via email [email protected]

School Governors

Mr Andy Webster - Chair (Parent)

Mr Kevin Taylor - (Local Authority)

Mrs S Haworth - Vice Chair (Parent)

Mrs C Birchall (Foundation)

Mrs R McNamara (Foundation)

Mr S Parr -  (Foundation)


Mrs V Matichecchia (Foundation)

Mr I Riding - Chair of Finance Committee (Foundation)

Rev. Anton Muller (ex-officio Foundation)

Mrs E Pollitt (Staff)

Mrs R Scholz (Headteacher)


Name Governor Category Date of Appointment Term of Office Relevant Business & Pecuniary Interests Governor Role in other educational institutions Relationship between Governor or local staff
Mrs Rebecca Scholz Headteacher 20/04/2020 4 yrs None None None
Mrs Emma Pollitt Staff 10/12/2019 4 yrs None None None
Rev. Anton Muller Ex-officio Foundation 15/06/2015 4 yrs None Calder Vale Primary School None
Mr Ian Riding Foundation 20/02/2020 4 yrs None None None
Mrs Victoria Matichecchia Foundation 08/01/2020 4 yrs None None None
Vacancy Foundation          
Mr Stephen Parr Foundation 23/03/2017 4 yrs None None None

Mrs Ruth


Foundation 20/01/2025 4 yrs None None None
Mrs Caroline Birchall Foundation 27/01/2017 4 yrs None None




Mrs Sue Haworth Parent 27/01/2016 4 yrs None None None
Mr Andy Webster Parent 27/01/2016 4 yrs None None None
Mr Kevin Taylor Local Authority 06/06/2018 4 yrs None None None 


Governors who have left the Governing Body during 2019-20

Mrs Kerry Byatt (Foundation)

Mrs Rebecca Harwood (Staff)

Mrs Helen Hesketh (Headteacher)

Mr D Anderson (Foundation)

Mr J Collinson (Foundation)


Governing Body Committees

Click below to see the committee structure of the current governing body

The following committees meet termly.  Other committees meet as required.


Standards and Effectiveness Committee

Mr Andy Webster

Mrs Sue Haworth

Mrs Caroline Birchall

Mr Jonty Collinson

Mrs Victoria Matichecchia

Mrs Emma Pollitt

Rev. Anton Muller





Finance Committee

Mr Ian Riding (Chair)

Mr Kevin Taylor

Mr Andy Webster

Mr Stephen Parr



Attendance record at governing body and committee meetings 2020/21


Autumn Term 2020      
Name Full Governors Finance Committee Standards & Effectiveness Committee
Mr Kevin Taylor Yes Yes  
Mr Andy Webster Yes Yes Yes
Mrs Sue Haworth Yes   Yes
Mrs Caroline Birchall      
Mr Jonty Collinson      
Mr Stephen Parr Yes Yes  
Mr David Anderson      
Mrs Victoria Matichecchia     Yes
Mr Ian Riding Yes Yes  
Rev. Anton Muller Yes    
Mrs Emma Pollitt Yes   Yes
Mrs Rebecca Scholz Yes Yes Yes
Spring Term 2021      
Name Full Governors Finance Committee Standards & Effectiveness Committee
Mr Kevin Taylor      
Mr Andy Webster      
Mrs Sue Haworth      
Mrs Caroline Birchall      
Mr Stephen Parr      
Mrs R McNamara      
Mrs Victoria Matichecchia      
Mr Ian Riding      
Rev. Anton Muller      
Mrs Emma Pollitt      
Mrs Rebecca Scholz